Setting up a twin

Post here if you can help or need help on anything electrical.
User avatar
Jack Kennedy
Posts: 102
Joined: October 8th, 2012, 7:40 pm
Location: Scotland
Contact:

Setting up a twin

Postby Jack Kennedy » July 14th, 2019, 4:27 pm

My question is, setting up a twin with 2x 60A ESC w/bec, both are set up the same on program card, option of 1 x 5s on Y-lead or 2 x 4s one for each side, on the first option is it common practice I have been informed to snip a wire on one side, and only have one bec working.??
Not sure, Still learning the electric side of this hobby.
Any advice on this question will be greatfully recieved.

Thanks in advance

Jack
The only way is up

David Baker
Posts: 81
Joined: April 10th, 2016, 9:25 am
Contact:

Re: Setting up a twin

Postby David Baker » July 14th, 2019, 7:43 pm

Jack
You must snip or pull out the red wire on the 3 pin servo lead of ONE of the esc’s to the receiver.. do not have them both presenting all 3 wires to the TX.
Everything will work just fine if you do this...

Dave B

User avatar
Jack Kennedy
Posts: 102
Joined: October 8th, 2012, 7:40 pm
Location: Scotland
Contact:

Re: Setting up a twin

Postby Jack Kennedy » July 14th, 2019, 9:42 pm

Thanks David
Am I correct in thinking that if all wires were left in place that would increase the voltage to the rx and servo's.
not good.
thank you for that, another piece of info to store away in the gray matter.

Jack
The only way is up

Steve Perry
Posts: 191
Joined: July 12th, 2015, 7:47 pm
Contact:

Re: Setting up a twin

Postby Steve Perry » July 16th, 2019, 9:06 pm

If both red wires are left in place then the voltage regulators in the esc's will fight against each other and get confused.
Do not extend the battery wires on the esc, extend the wires to the motor if needed.

User avatar
Jack Kennedy
Posts: 102
Joined: October 8th, 2012, 7:40 pm
Location: Scotland
Contact:

Re: Setting up a twin

Postby Jack Kennedy » July 27th, 2019, 9:38 am

Thanks for that info Steve, does this apply to opto esc as well.
The only way is up

Steve Perry
Posts: 191
Joined: July 12th, 2015, 7:47 pm
Contact:

Re: Setting up a twin

Postby Steve Perry » July 27th, 2019, 9:09 pm

Do not extend the battery wires on the ESC's, only use one BEC or a dedicated BEC instead of the ones built into the ESC's.
You can extend the ESC battery wires using capacitors, but that makes things more complicated than you want to look at !
I think I understand what you are asking, Opto isolation is between the RX and the ESC but not between the battery's, everything has the same ground ( or negative ) except for the motor 3 wires. Control pulses are + above ground relative to the ground or negative wire, in the same way that an old style retract servo would have it's own battery.

Barrie King
Posts: 149
Joined: December 4th, 2008, 9:35 pm
Location: Retford, Notts
Contact:

Re: Setting up a twin

Postby Barrie King » July 30th, 2019, 3:29 pm

I can't see why you should not extend the battery wires, I did it on a mosquito with no problems. Lipo were in the fuz with escs and motors in the nacelles.


Barrie King
Posts: 149
Joined: December 4th, 2008, 9:35 pm
Location: Retford, Notts
Contact:

Re: Setting up a twin

Postby Barrie King » July 31st, 2019, 7:51 pm

Yes Steve I read the articles and knew about the capacitors but tried it anyway and it worked. I added about 12 inch to the wires. Maybe I was lucky.

User avatar
Jack Kennedy
Posts: 102
Joined: October 8th, 2012, 7:40 pm
Location: Scotland
Contact:

Re: Setting up a twin

Postby Jack Kennedy » August 2nd, 2019, 1:34 pm

I have the same setup as you Barrie, battery in the fuz, Esc in the nacelles, extensions less than a foot either side, removed red wire on one side, 5s 5000 battery on a y-lead, tried this and it worked.
Have not had it on the meter yet, that's the next step.
I will be reading the articles put up.

I must say this lecy stuff is a minefield.
The only way is up


Return to “Electric Stuff”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest