Your two pennies worth

This is an area for Off Topic Discussions which includes Tony Collins popular Fun Stuff.
Dave Parry
Site Admin

Your two pennies worth

Postby Dave Parry » October 11th, 2011, 10:39 am

Well I think the first topic for me has got to be English spelling and grammar, although I am the Journal Editor, and Website Administrator, I never really went to school as a boy, I hated it from the day I was drag there to the day I officially left, school reunions, phew! No chance, spelling and grammar what are they? I can tell you I have battled with this all my life, Job applications no chance, couldn’t fill them in, in fact I couldn’t read them.

Now my lack of education is my fault for being an idiot in my youth, I have spent most of my adult life trying to do what I should have done when I was a boy which is educate myself what I can tell you which I still can’t understand to this day, is, I now work in a school, yes, how ironic, I am not a teacher, but I do teach children computer skills. It always amazes me to see their faces when they realise a computer is not just for playing games, so why am I telling you all this?
Well it is always assumed that the persons posting a message or a reply knows there spelling and grammar when they post anything on forums in fact one of the main causes of forum abuse starts with someone correcting others on their spelling or grammar. We seem to have an obsession to correct people when we spot a missed spelt word or a comma is missing etc…

Now I am very lucky in my role as Editor of the Journal, I have people in the background proof read every item that is sent to me, my job ‘apart from grovelling a lot’ is to put it altogether in a manner that is presentable for you too want to read it.