Sky-120 by Tony Nijhuis

Any topic that is not suitable for the other topic items
Geoff McVey

Sky-120 by Tony Nijhuis

Postby Geoff McVey » June 29th, 2018, 12:31 pm

I'm new to large model flying, I have not flown for a number of years and like the idea of large model flying, I see that Sky-120 designed by Tony Nijihuis will be the ideal large model trainer, I will be starting from scratch again as far as building anything so will need to get/make a building board and buy tools/glues/expoxy etc, with the Sky-120 is the ideal engine a Zenoah 38 cc, what transmitter would you suggest to buy for a first large model, would you suggest to start a building thread so that I can show the building process and ask questions/advice at the same time.

I also see that there are a number of video tutorials by Gudjon Olafsson from Iceland building the Sky-120 looks like these will be very useful for someone like myself.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FBRQTZ2 ... SI9U_Jw_eD

Thank you

Geoff
Last edited by Geoff McVey on June 30th, 2018, 5:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Bob Thompson1894

Re: Sky-120 by Tony Nijihuis

Postby Bob Thompson1894 » June 30th, 2018, 8:00 am

Which transmitter opens a can of worms...I would say all are pretty reliable these days, just look at what others at your flying site (join a club if you have not already) and follow the majority, which probably means Spektrum, or less likely, Futaba. This means your questions about programming will be easily answered. Buy a Z38 second hand from someone who can show you it running, no need to buy new, those things are bullet proof and very long lived. Building board from 20mm MDF with a sheet of half inch plasterboard on it is ideal. As for glues, I can heartily recommend the aliphatic from Gorilla (NOT the polyurethane) and half hour epoxy. And I'm sure a build thread will be well received.

Geoff McVey

Re: Sky-120 by Tony Nijhuis

Postby Geoff McVey » June 30th, 2018, 5:19 pm

Bob,