Thank you all drone owners

Any topic that is not suitable for the other topic items
Mike Ellis

Thank you all drone owners

Postby Mike Ellis » November 26th, 2019, 8:19 pm

I started modelling model aircraft in the 60s,
I joined clubs, met loads of nice people and it was a pleasure .
This went on without incident till about 12 mths ago when certain people started buying plastic electric quadcopters and decided to fly where they like , when they like, didnt join any clubs nor had to show their competance in flying and never took insurance out.
Due to outrageous behaviour by some in buzzing actual airports ! suddenly the CAA have decided model aircraft are also the same as these plastic pile of crap and without one single incident with a model aircraft buzzing an aerodrome, have decided to charge me £9.0.0 to do something I have been doing safely for nearly 60 years !!
Plastic crap is plastic crap , NOT a model aircraft !!
This is the death nell for moddellers like me.
I will not play their game !!
Im selling everything I have and good riddance to the effing plastic toys !!

stuart knowles 1611

Re: Thank you all drone owners

Postby stuart knowles 1611 » November 26th, 2019, 10:20 pm

I feel your pain but if you are packing it all in, I hardly think it fair to blame the extra nine quid, especially as the LMA are paying it for you this year.
The whole subject has really been flogged to, and beyond, death in the various forums. I fail to understand all the excitement. I've done all the tests just out of interest, just to see what's what, I have my pilot number in the TX case, I will probably have a set of stickers with my 'O' number in due course, but the chances are that until someone who matters asks to see it, they will remain in the box. If anyone asks why its not on the model its because it's only just come out of a long hibernation and I forgot to put one. I'll do it now.